Own By Femme

What Ever You Do, Own It

Determined: The One Week Vegan Challenge

20131115-185919.jpg

Who needs cheese anyway?!?? *begins to sob*

No let me be serious. I am actually very excited to do a one week vegan challenge. I am even considering extending it to a month (or longer!) if all goes well. CROSS YOUR FINGERS FOR ME!

executive-summary1

If you are not familiar, a vegan is someone who does not consume meat, fish, or any animal byproducts. Yes that means no chicken, no salmon, no eggs, no milk,…. no milk chocolate… 0.o … sounds terrible right?? Yee who have little faith!! It really isn’t. You just need the knowledge and you too shall see the light!! Or at least the high energy, glowing skin, oh and a tiny waist line 😉

20131115-190028.jpg

Why try vegan?

I am not a dietician but I am well aware of the correlation between diet and disease and honey, its a BIG’EN! There are many health benefits of a high vegetable, fibre rich diet in general, but by cutting out meat and diary, you save yourself from all the saturated fats and bad cholesterol they contain . For some this can mean the difference between having a heart attack, living with type two diabetes, developing heart disease, cancer, obesity or …. not.

No but, what about PROTEIN???

Simmer down, simmer down. As for the popular protein question, I have done extensive research on it and guess what? Vegetables have protein! Soy and Almond milk have protein. Quinoa, nuts, beans, lentils, tofu… all protein packed! Sure meat might offer a nice hefty source of protein in one serving but it also comes with extras you don’t need; like bad fats and cholesterol, has most likely been highly processed and covered in salt, and quite frankly, makes you feel lethargic and in dire need of a cat nap. We are not about that life!

Ok let me slow down before I sound like the vegan spokesperson. I have been reading about the vegan diet and lifestyle for a couple of weeks now and the findings have really inspired me. Oh and honestly! All the vegan recipes I have found have my mouth watering. If you have the time, please watch Forks Over Knives, a documentary about the health benefits of a whole-food plant-based diet. It was extremely informative. If you have Netflix, they have it available for online streaming.

I found this recipe for vegan breakfast tacos that I can’t wait to try! *drools*

Screen shot 2013-11-17 at 3.13.47 PM

One Week Vegan Challenge

So I am actually a pescetarian, which means I don’t eat meat but I do eat fish and dairy. I don’t necessarily expect this to be the easiest transition, but you know what? I enjoy feeling good. I know that when my body is healthy, it helps me rest easy. I feel a peace of mind, am motivated, and my drive sky rockets through the roof.

I also know that the meat industry is inhumane and supports cruel slaughter house practices. I know that the consumption of meat is directly related to illness and that the consumption of a plant based diet can provide all the nutrients your body needs. I know that land can yield more pounds of grains and vegetables than it can in meat, which ultimately means, more mouths could be fed. A little sustainable development goes a long way. And of course, I know that I enjoy not being bloated and gassy and having the confidence booster of feeling completely beautiful and comfortable.. naked. The vegan diet isn’t just good for the body, its good for the mind. Passion and compassion, in each bite 😉

20131115-185755.jpg

So, HEY! WHY NOT!? I will start my one week challenge tomorrow and will share my journey to a healthier diet, more energy, and a smaller waist line. Let’s get this show on the road! Woop woop 😀

Own It,

René Daniella

10 comments on “Determined: The One Week Vegan Challenge

  1. Ashley Snowden
    November 17, 2013

    I’m sure you have all that you need for your challenge, but if you’re interested, my Pinterest board has vegan meal ideas for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks!!! Check me out (username is kaprisun08, or search Ashley Snowden)!! Boa Sorte!!

  2. Chan
    November 18, 2013

    I went vegan for most of 2012 & my body thanked me. My very horrible PMS was non-existent, my waistline shrunk (would’ve been way more if I had actually stuck to a workout plan), my skin was amazing…..plenty benefits to being vegan. I’m back to being vegetarian, but in the past 2mths I’ve been mostly vegan….lost 22lbs. Now let’s hope I can quit the nonsense, do what I know I’m supposed to and melt away all my bad fat? GO ON GURL…..U HAVE SOOOOO MUCH TO GAIN WHILE U LOSE!!!

  3. alline85
    November 19, 2013

    Rene, congratulations on your vegan challenge! Just a year ago, I was interested in veganism but was afraid I didn’t have the willpower to follow through with it. In May 2013, I finally made the leap and never looked back! I’m writing about my journey on my blog, http://www.veganrunnereats.com, and I just completed a marathon last week as a newly vegan runner. I also have recipes on my blog – maybe you could even see something you’d like to try!

    And, by the way, being an ex-cheese-addict: all of those cravings go away, and you won’t even miss that stuff! As one door closes, another one always opens!

    -Alina

  4. Omari
    November 20, 2013

    I’m a pescatarian as well, going two years strong. I must’ve been a grizzly bear in my past life because I absolutely love me some blackened Salmon. I’m a sushi addict as well. So the idea of not eating fish saddens me tremendously. I can drop dairy, but not fish! Lol

    • ownbyfemme
      November 22, 2013

      Hi Omari,

      Oh I know what you mean. I love salmon. It’s honestly one of my favorites after scallops. Neither of which I can have while eating vegan *sigh*. Its ok though! I am at the end of my one week vegan challenge and I can really feel the difference. Health wise, the effects of not eating dairy have had the largest impact. I am going to try to do this for another week and then just keep taking it day by day. Have you tried the vegan challenge? It’s world vegan month right now sooooooooo, it’s as good a time as ever!!

      Own It,

      René Daniella

  5. Chan
    November 22, 2013

    He y’all. I came cross an amazing vegan recipe blog last night in my search for high protein vegan meals to try out…..and a few of them are even gourmet. I’ve tried just one of these recipes already. Hope you enjoy: http://www.vegangela.com/tag/high-protein/

    • ownbyfemme
      November 22, 2013

      Hey Chan,
      Thanks for sharing!
      -René Daniella

  6. saharahbergen
    November 24, 2013

    Goodluck! I just started going vegetarian after watching Forks Over Knives. Check out the documentary Vegucated, if you haven’t seen it already. It follows three meat-eaters going vegan and is really inspiring.

  7. Pingback: Forks Over Knives | Mixed Greens

  8. Pingback: Trip to India: Pre Travel Steps | Own By Femme

Leave a Reply

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Follow me on Twitter

