Own By Femme

What Ever You Do, Own It

Trip to India: Preparation

auroville_plaza_01

I am on the verge of exploding with excitement over the fact that in LESS THAN TWO WEEKS, I will be leaving my cozy little nook in Paris, France to spend 4 exhilarating weeks in Auroville, India.

Town_Hall_of_Auroville

Auroville Huh?

Yep! Auroville is a village/community located in southern India, which means it will be warm during the 4 weeks I am there (praise gawd!). I will be working with multiple NGO’s on sustainable development efforts underway in their community. The people work together to sustain the environment they live in and promote a sense of unity of mankind. Spiritual development is a significant part of their lifestyle.

img_1132

The photos I have seen of the temples in Auroville are absolutely breathtaking!

auroville-1

The dynamics of their community is pretty fluid from what I have been told and I am going there to learn about the sustainable development practices they use and hopefully, help further develop sustainable communication efforts. As of right now, I don’t quite know  exactly what I will be doing to contribute but I am over the moon about this opportunity. I’m taking a 7D camera with me so hopefully I will be able to capture the experience well. I will certainly be blogging about it while I am there.

Preparation

In order to travel to India I have to apply for a visa. It’s not a difficult process, just time consuming if anything. The website is pretty easy to navigate.

Screen Shot 2013-12-06 at 6.07.28 PM

I have dual citizenship, American and British, so I have to include information for both passports even though I am only using my British one. They require a different sized photo than the America, British, or French passports and visas do so I had to take it at the Embassy of India here in Paris. Can we say mug shot??

photo 1-3

I have submitted my application and after 6 days of processing it should be ready for me to pick up. Slowly but surely I am on my way!

I didn’t have time to get any vaccines but none are actually required to enter India. I will be taking Malaria pills with me, although I have heard they can make you feel quite lethargic, along with a host of other meds and ointments. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention has a great list of the basic first aid kit contents when travelling abroad so I just followed their lead.

Personal Enrichment

While I am in Auroville I hope to take advantage of the change of environment to do some good for me also. I thoroughly enjoyed my one week vegan challenge that conveniently ended a couple of days before Thanksgiving so while in India, I will be adopting a vegan diet again. I will also be taking advantage of the yoga practices in the community. I like yoga but have a long long looooong way to go before I will be able to really perform it. I think now is as good a time as any to start though!

I look forward to going to the markets once I have arrived so I can get a wardrobe similar to the locals.  It is very important to me that I dress appropriately for their culture. According to a friend of mine who is familiar with the area, I should be able to buy some items very cheap so we will see how that turns out!

I am not looking forward to the rural toilets, the spiders and ants, the hot nights, or any unforeseen reactions to food/water that my body might have (definitely got the Imodium and Pepto Bismol in my little personal pharmacy), but those are just minor details. See you soon Auroville!

Own It,

René Daniella

8 comments on “Trip to India: Preparation

  1. Amanda Howard
    December 6, 2013

    Sounds exciting, good luck and God speed!

    • ownbyfemme
      December 6, 2013

      Heyyyyy
      Thank you so much Amanda! I’m really looking forward to it.
      I hope you’re doing lovely girl!
      Own It,
      René Daniella

  2. Lynn
    December 7, 2013

    I thouroughly enjoy your blog! Good luck on your traveles to India. I can’t wait to read all about it. See your photos. I’m sure you will take full advantage of everything while you’re there.
    God speed!

  3. Shiba
    March 11, 2014

    Hey girl that’s awesome you are going to India I’ve always wanted to go volunteer in India but I have no clue how to start the process can you help me out

  4. jenaimartinez
    July 16, 2014

    Reading this post has left me so inspired ! Your blog is so lovely and gave me great inspiration for mine as well. I always wanted to travel to Dubai and I hope you enjoy your stay and take fabulous pictures 😚

  5. jenaimartinez
    July 16, 2014

    This post has given me so much inspiration ! Your blog looks amazing and I hope to make mine look as fun and creative as yours. I always wanted to visit Dubai and I hope your trip is amazing and you take fabulous pictures

  6. Guilda
    July 19, 2014

    Hello,

    I went to Delhi/Gurgao back in January and had an amazing time. I plan on going again in October. Can’t wait to read about your trip!

  7. Phoenix
    July 22, 2014

    Hi there, I hope your travels were as fab as you are! Quick question please, how did you pack/prepare for the hair on the road? I’m off to the middle east and Greece for 4 weeks and I don’t want to have to get a weave or braids, but this natural hair is high maintenance and thirsty 🙂 Any tips woudld be much appreciated. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Follow me on Twitter

