Own By Femme

What Ever You Do, Own It

Best Way To Detangle Curly Hair: The Tangle Teezer

The Tangle Teezer looks like an oversized spiked jelly bean but you know what? It gets sht done! Image

Save Time, Energy, & Length

Price Range: $12 – $20

Comes in multiple sizes and shapes

I first came across the Tangle Teezer at the Paul Labrecque Salon in NYC where I meet make up artist and hair stylist, Mia, to get my curls coloured, cut, revamped, and revitalized. She cuts my hair dry and uses the brush to detangle it before hand. Even on dry hair, the Tangle Teezer did not tug at the curls and cause excessive breakage. OF COURSE a few unlucky strands must bear the weight of this curly hair life but in comparison to detangling with a normal brush, the breakage and loss was MINIMAL!

Naturally, I had to buy the brush that day and have bee using it on my hair wet since then. As there are no fabric parts, cleaning and maintaining the brush are an absolute breeze. But the key aspect is that not only does the brush not pull or yank hair out reducing breakage, it really speeds up the whole process. The nifty little bean shape makes it easy to hold and control the stroke.

On days where I don’t want to wet my hair too much as per a usual wash and go, I will just wet the outer portion (middle to end) briefly. Then I detangle the ends with the Tangle Teezer so my roots keep the volume and my ends lose the frizz. Works like a charm!!

Please please please do yourself the favour and buy a Tangle Teezer. I highly recommend it.  Life will be easier and although I don’t have kids, I am sure it would be great for them too. It is honestly a great gift idea too! I actually just ordered it from Amazon for my sister. She has similar hair to mine but until now, has not embraced the curls. To encourage her and give her a little boost, I sent her a Tangle Teezer (Elite), Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl & Style Milk, and Cantu Shea Butter Leave in Conditioning Hair Repair Cream. I think they will be enough to pull her over to the wild side!

What ever you do, Own it

René Daniella

3 comments on “Best Way To Detangle Curly Hair: The Tangle Teezer

  1. tylerhandmade
    February 28, 2014

    This is the ONE thing that I must have to comb my hair. Without it,
    I’m at dismay!!

    Tyler
    onelittleblackdress.com

  2. ciaostephi
    March 7, 2014

    Hey Rene Daniella! I really dig your blog! I’m curly girl too and I’ve hunting for the right brush to de-tangle without breaking my hair. Thanks, I’ll definitely be ordering one, stat!

  3. FashionChief
    April 3, 2014

    I have used one of these, for a while too! It definitely helps get the job done! Great article!

Leave a Reply

Lounging Poolside at @villaveo 🌺💜🌿 This place was so beautiful! Booked by @sweetcaribbeanholidays 💜 if you're traveling to the Caribbean soon follow their page! They have ALLLLL the contacts! 😍🙌🏽 I've been working out everyday since I've been here with their recommended trainer @ledoubles and I can actually see a difference 😝 
Would you workout during vacation or you just want to relax? 😃🤔 Cc: @martiniquemagnifique #martiniquetourisme #SweetCaribbeanHolidays #TravelLoveGrow J'aime le soleil 🌞🌺🌿 Me, my curls, and my curves are living our best lives out here 🤗🙌🏽🌶 Thank you @Alibikinibrasil for this cute set! 
Shades from @hiwear_opticien 🌞
Curls styled with @curlsvitamins 
#martiniquetourisme  #TravelLoveGrow #femmeinbloom

Follow me on Twitter

